Trouser obsession?

I think I may be a little bit obsessed with making trousers! I remembered some rather funky denim type fabric I had in my stash and I knew just how to turn it into the most awesome pair of pants for the little man. So as soon as he was down for his afternoon nap I was straight to work.

Rocket trousers

Rocket trousers

As the fabric I was going to use has little stars embroidered over it I decided to create a little appliqué rocket to go on one leg out of felt. I carefully sewed that on first and then set to putting the trousers together. I added contrasting yellow stitching down the leg seams to create a little more detail as well. I have to hand stitch the leg hems and they are a little wonky but I guess that just adds to the hand made appeal (doesn’t it?!).

I’m out of elastic now and should probably be concentrating on getting this little family ready for a very big journey that is happening next week so no more trousers for a while. Maybe I should try a shirt next, although I am a little apprehensive about whether my sewing skills are up to that!

Leave a Reply

