Another crazy crochet hat

We got given some clothes for the little one by one of our neighbours so I decided that I needed to make a thank you for the slightly less little boy who owned them originally. As I was in a crochet hat mood I decided to try and make another crazy crochet hat!

20130701-160502.jpg

Monster hat

I found another pattern on The Boy Trifecta to use as my base and rummaged in the stash to find some wool I could use. I found a ball of variegated wool in purple with a hint of pink (I know pink for a boy but I decided it wasn’t too much pink and anyway boys can wear pink, can’t they?!). The pattern was easy to follow and quick to make, the mouth part looked a little odd to begin with but made sense when I added the accessories. I used big blue buttons, a piece of cream felt and some google eyes to create the big monster eyes and then some yellow felt to make the teeth. Finally I added some strands of sparkly yellow wool to the top to create hair (I made them different looks to create a shaggy look).

The hat fits perfectly and the new owner tells me he likes it! It was fun to make, especially as it gave me the chance to let my imagination run away a little in order to add the finishing touches. Let me know what you think or what you would do to create your monster look.

Thank fully my little one is sleeping a little more again after a week of not napping so projects and housework are possible again, crafting is so much easier with a sleeping baby!

Leave a Reply

