Easy cake for busy Mums

I love to make cakes and both hubby and I love to eat cake too! With the little one around finding the time to make cake is difficult unless I bake in the evening when he’s gone to bed. That was until I remembered a recipe I used to use when I was little, the easiest cake in the world, Honey Cake from a little book called “Pooh’s Fireside Recipes”.

The reason it is easy is you simply melt some of the ingredients, add some eggs and flour and then cook. It takes about ten minutes to make and then half an hour to cook and best of all it tastes yummy. The book is hard to find now as I think it is out of print so I will share it here with you.

Ingredients
175g self raising flour
125g butter
100g soft brown sugar
150g honey (3 rounded tablespoons)
2 eggs
1 tablespoon water

Method
Grease and line a cake tin (I use a loaf tin) and preheat the oven to 180 degrees. Measure the butter, sugar, honey and water into a saucepan and gently heat until the butter has melted (do not allow to boil). Take the pan off the heat and allow to cool for ten minutes. Beat the eggs in with a wooden spoon one at a time. Fold in the flour and then mix well to ensure there are no lumps. Pour into the prepared tin and pop in the oven for about 30 minutes. When cooked leave it to cool for a few minutes and then remove it from the tin to cool.

This cake is yummy with a lovely cup of tea or just when you feel like a little something naughty! I’ve really enjoyed taking a trip back to my childhood and getting to have a nice slice of cake without the need for a trip to the shops. If you give this a go let me know what you thought.

One thought on “Easy cake for busy Mums

Leave a Reply

