Creating trousers from trousers

As I’ve said before I love to take old, tired things and repurpose them. Not only is it environmental, its economical for a family living off just one income.

My husbands work trousers were looking a bit tatty, seams starting to give up the ghost, ripped pockets from carrying too much, that kind of thing. Rather than just chuck them I decided to see if I could turn them into a pair of trousers for the little one.

The finished product

The finished product

Obviously this didn’t require all of the trousers! I decided to use the legs as they appeared to be in pretty good shape. I found a pattern on the Internet and lining the seams up to create the fold I needed chopped a leg out of each leg (that sounds kind of odd doesn’t it!). I then got some contrasting fabric from my stash and created little cuffs for the bottom of each leg. After sewing them all together (the crotch was the trickiest bit) I created a waist band with the contrasting fabric before inserting some elastic into the channel that this created. The whole process only took about two hours at the most (and I’m sure it would have been quicker if I didn’t keep getting distracted by the penguin programme on tv!).

I’m really pleased with how they’ve turned out and am chuffed I found a use for a pair of trousers that otherwise would have just gone in the bin. I have another pair of hubby’s old trousers to use yet as well so I think I will have another go.

2 thoughts on “Creating trousers from trousers

Leave a Reply

