Making little monsters

The daytime sleeping has continued, someone asked me if I knew what to do with myself now he was sleeping and I said I sure did! I have been making some more hats, one for our little one and one for a friends little bit bigger one!

White and Green Dino Hat

White and Green Dino Hat

This time I chose a dinosaur/monster theme and decided to see what free patterns I could find in order to achieve my desired outcome. I found a great beanie pattern (complete with ear flaps) on Ravelry* and then a dino spikes pattern on The Boy Trifecta. The beanie pattern was nice and easy to follow (despite my best efforts to keep adding in extra stitches – see previous post!) and built up quickly (always a bonus, especially when crafting time is so precious). I chose a nice blue colour for the first hat and then white for the second hat (mainly dictated by which colours I had the most of in my stash!), the hat then has a nice contrast band around the bottom so I did orange for the blue hat and green for the white hat.

Blue and Orange Dino Hat

Blue and Orange Dino Hat

Next I made some spots in various sizes and stitched them onto the hats to create contrast and hopefully a skin effect, I did these in the contrast colour that was around the bottom of the hats. Finally I made the spikes in the same colour adjusting the size to make them in proportion with the rest of the hats. I also made them slightly different sizes so the spikes got smaller as they went down the back of the hat. The white and green hat was a bit bigger so I did a couple more spikes on it. The spikes were pretty easy to make as well although a little fiddly at the beginning due to the tight circle to start. It’s a good idea to leave a nice long tail as you can then use this to sew them onto the hat (the same is true of the spots).

I’m really pleased with how they both turned out. The little ones hat (blue and orange) is a little big at the moment but better that than too small! I’m loving making these hats and am open to suggestions for the next one if people know of any good designs.

My next project has arrived in the post, a kit to make a fancy christmas stocking for the little one. Annoyingly I need some softie guts for it though and I don’t have any at the moment so the kit is sat teasing me at the moment! Fingers crossed it won’t be long until I can get to town to buy some and get stuck in!

* The Ravelry link may not work unless you have a Ravelry account, if you don’t and love craft I would highly recommend signing up as there are loads of free patterns for both knitting and crochet on there!

One thought on “Making little monsters

Leave a Reply

