Finally some crafting

New funky bibs.

New funky bibs.

So after weeks of struggling to find time to make anything I have been on a bit of a roll the last few days. I managed to make some more bibs (we seem to use them so quickly I’m struggling to keep up with washing them!) and I made some bandana style ones too for when the teething dribbling starts. I’m pleased with how they turned out and love the way they let me use up odds and ends from my fabric stash, suddenly I feel justified in having all that fabric!

Then yesterday I was set the challenge of making another hat for the boy, an Asterix style hat. Hubby has a Viking helmet (complete with horns, although actually the Vikings didn’t have horns on their helmets but we won’t go into that here!) and his sister thought it would be cool for the boy to have a winged version just like Asterix. A quick hunt on the internet and a wings pattern was located off Ravelry and I already had the Viking helmet pattern which I knew would work too.

The wings pattern was pretty easy to follow although somehow I ended up down the wrong end at one point so had to finish off and start again! The wings are built in two pieces, one slightly smaller than the other and then sewn together.

The crazy new hat.

The crazy new hat.

I made them a little smaller than in the pattern as I thought they would be far too big otherwise. The Viking helmet pattern is nice and easy to follow and includes a really cool stitch called the popcorn stitch which basically makes a little bump of wool (it looks like rivets on the helmet). With the two pieces made all that remained was to sew the wings onto the helmet and “Bob’s your uncle” it was done! Saying that I might try and line it later to make it really nice and snuggly to wear.

I love to be challenged to create things like this and hats are among my favourite things to crochet. I can’t wait to try it on him and show it off on our next cold day outing. He’s grown out of his aviator hat already so it’s good to know he has a new slightly crazy hat to wear instead!

It’s so nice to have finally made something again as some of the things I want to get done (like the toy box) are difficult to find time for which I find frustrating. It is great to have a bit of me time as well after the little one has gone to bed, it helps to keep me sane. I already know what I’m going to make next as well, I feel like I’m on a roll!

One thought on “Finally some crafting

Leave a Reply

