Home alone

The time has come when the little one and I find ourselves home alone as Daddy had to go back to work. It is a rather daunting prospect (perhaps more so as Hubby’s shifts are 13 hours long!). It is amazing what a difference an extra pair of hands makes. It is also amazing how much time it takes to look after a newborn who essentially just eats, sleeps, poops and cries! Our first day home alone yesterday was ok although I think my greatest achievement was unloading and loading the dishwasher! It doesn’t help that the little one has decided he needs to be near one of us nearly all the time during the day.

I have decided to be my own best friend though and set no goals for each day other than getting through it, if I then manage to do something it will feel like a massive achievement! I’ve heard of people who write themselves big lists of things they will do when they have so much time at home with their babies and then drive themselves crazy because they tick off a grand total of zero from the list! I guess my biggest achievement only has to be making sure the little one is comfy and happy, that’s a pretty big achievement when you think of it.

One thought on “Home alone

Leave a Reply

